On Behalf of the Cho Family

 

As you are aware, we have suffered a great and tragic loss.  Dan Cho passed away suddenly in an accident while on tour in Switzerland, on July 6, 2010.

In lieu of flowers, the family respectfully requests that a contribution to Audrey’s college fund be made instead.  Please see the “Ways to Help” page for more information, including a link.

Thank you.

 

 

Some friends/musicians of Dan’s have worked really hard to put together a concert to honor him.  Tickets go on sale at noon on Friday 9/10/2010. 

 link for the concert:
http://www.ticketmaster.com/event/00004528D45763F2?artistid=1495516&majorcatid=10001&minorcatid=60
Featuring Regina Spektor / Carina Round / Cooper / Jenny Owen Youngs / Jupiter One / Only Son / Rachel Platten / The Candles / Tracy Bonham / Wes Hutchinson

(updated 9/10/2010)

32 Responses

  1. My feelings =\

  2. What a sad and tragic loss. My heart goes out to his family but to all of us for him his beautiful music has moved us so often.

  3. I was so sad ,sad to noticed that the young man
    whom was found dead in Montreux first when i heard
    on the radio it mad me sad then afther when i saw
    Regina crayin i couldnt believe is the same man,
    i was so a touch i have no words for
    that i feel really sorry for hem and family and friends i
    wish them all a lots of strenght with thise hard sad time!

    Malika EI Idrissi

  4. Im very sorry.

  5. I am so so so sorry for your loss. It breaks my heart to know that such a great cellist would come and go so fast. My condolences to Regina, and most importantly his wife and daughter.

  6. My name is Tony. Even though I’m a rabid Regina Spektor fan I’m much more of a rabid Fellow Human Being fan. We all hate death and love life just the same. All of us are just trying to be happy and get the most out of life we can, and have it last for as long as it can. When it’s cut short, or shorter than it had to be, It’s crappy. I’ve had death of close ones in my family and the hurt never completely goes away. In fact, I don’t want it to go away completely. But, however sharp the pain is at first, it does calm a little in time. Julia and Audrey, what beautiful names. While you are going through what is probably unspeakable sadness, please be careful to not get overwhelmed. Maybe it’s too early to say this, but life can still be fulfilling in any circumstance. I share your experience. That’s why I feel I can say such a thing. Though I don’t know you personally, I would like to express my sorrow and love for you. I don’t have to know you to know what the feelings you’re having right now are. I wish I could take it away. Hopefully this life isn’t all there is. I have hopes like that. In other words, I think there’s more Dan Cho to come. However it happens, I feel pretty good knowing that we’ll all here him blasting out that cello again. All my love!! Tony

  7. as a man, husband, and father, my heart is broken, cain’t even think what my family would do, if today is your last day… what would you do? if we only knew,
    each day is a gift not a given right, what if today was your last day?.what would you do today?

  8. […] On Behalf of the Cho Family   As you are aware, we have suffered a great and tragic loss.  Dan Cho passed away suddenly in an accident while on […] […]

  9. My god, I am so so sorry for your loss…My thoughts and prayers go out to the family. Dan was very talented and will be missed by many. All my blessings to his family…

  10. I had the honor of meeting Dan. He was a lovely, funny man. He really will be very missed. 😦 I hope he’s somewhere beautiful now, smiling down on us, trying to let us know everything is alright.

  11. I was acquainted with Dan for many years but did not know him well. Two years ago, he told me that he and his wife were soon expecting a baby. After Audrey was born, Dan e-mailed me pictures. I saw his beautiful wife and daughter and could see how in love with them he was. I knew Dan from the media industry and did not know much about his music. Since he passed away, I learned he was a world class cellist. I always knew him as a very nice man who obviously loved his family. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  12. My name is Pieter and I live in the Netherlands. Last year, july the 14th, me and my friends went to Paradiso, Amsterdam to see the wonderful Regina Spektor. Because we are great fans, me and my friend have been waiting outside Paradiso for hours. We hoped to see Regina, but we didn’t. Who we did see, was Dan Cho. He came up to us and asked us how we were doing and for how long we have been waiting there. After a little chat he said he wanted to see some shops in Amsterdam. I told him where he should go, and then he left. During the concert I was amazed by his talent. After the concert, I saw him walking, and he gave me a little smile of recognition. This memory I wanted to share with you, because I was so honored that he came up to us for a little chat. My heart goes out to his wife and his daughter. They should be very, very proud of him. Pieter.

  13. I had so much fun photographing Daniel through the years. This past weekend I went through all the shots and set up a website of my favorite pics for Daniel’s friends and family. These captured his music and his incredible personality. He was such a ham in front of the camera and I’m so grateful to have spent this time with him. This will be a place we can all visit when we need to see Daniel and remember the amazing person he was. We miss you Danny-boy!

    http://jryanroberts.com/dan_cho.html

  14. I am sorry for your loss. My heart goes out to the family and the rest of those who know Daniel.

  15. This is a terrible loss and I offer my most sincere condolences to John’s family. I’m not too familiar with his music but I will miss his football interviews and articles that I read with much interest and joy.

  16. so sad to hear of this loss…we shall all miss Dan’s quirky humour and awsome posts! rest in peace my friend

  17. My friend Zach knew Dan and worked with him in advertising. Until ESPN soccernet placed this notice about his contributions to soccernet and soccer, I had no idea. But what a loss; a soccer fan and a musician of great music! I know Zach is very sad and in mourning.

  18. My deepest condolences.

  19. I’m devastated. Heart broken. I was Dan’s fellow Soccernet correspondent and we had a lovely chat right before my team (Argentina) played South Korea in the World Cup when he joined our podcast show. I immediately became a fan of his writing and felt lucky to be able to talk to him as he seemed a top man.

    As a new dad myself, my thoughts are all with his wife and daughter. My heart and those of my family go out to them.

    RIP Dan

  20. very sorry for your loss.

  21. R.I.P, u will not be forgotten

  22. hi, i saw this article on espn soccernet about daniel cho. just wanted to say am terribly sorry for his wife and daughter. life can be tough/cruel, but never ever give up.

  23. Hi everyone,

    I was completely shocked and devastated to hear this news. I still remember as if it was yesterday that we had chat on our blog’s podcast a fews days before South Korea taking on Argentina. He was a real fun person to talk to and one whom you’ll enjoy being around with. It was great to hear about the things that he is so passionate about; his wife, kid and South Korea football. I was surely miss him but judging by the numbers of tribute that we’re getting here, this lovely chap will never be forgotten.

    To my friend Dan, you’ll always be on our heart. RIP amigo.

    My prayers and thought’s goes out to his family for their great loss.

  24. To the Cho family, I am so sorry for your loss. Dan sat by me when he free-lanced at mediavest and always spoke of his wife and daughter with pride. He was one of the most genuine people I have met and will be missed.

  25. thank you all for your lovely memories and comments about my beautiful husband.

    • Dear Julia,

      John and I are friends of your aunt Marge, Harold, and your parents. Please accept our sincerest, warmest sympathys for your loss. Marge has kept us up on you over the years. She says you are a magnificant person, and have a beautiful baby. We know the present must be extremely hard, but we’re sure you will get through this, and you will teach your little girl what a wonderful father she had. Once again, we are thinking of you both, and wish we could ease your pain.

  26. To the Cho family, i am so sorry for your loss. I didnt really know Daniel but i knew his wife and daughter from my job. You will always be in my prayers ಌ

  27. I didn’t know Dan personally but have heard many great things about him through those that knew him closely. In the past few weeks I have learned so much about Dan through teary recounted stories. It is undeniably clear that he was a great presence in everyone’s life and he will certainly be missed, never forgotten, and will always be loved.

    My prayers are with his family. ❤

  28. In the short time that I got to know Dan I knew that he was a very special person in the way that he loved his family and friends. He has left an indelible mark in my own life and will be most certainly missed. My heart and prayers go out to Julia and Audrey.

  29. We met Dan last year during the Rock Werchter festival in Werchter. He painted us a plaster head for charity, we are building a home for disabled people. He really took his time to make his artwork. And he loved doing it!! He was such a lovable guy, we really loved being with him. So when we heard about the accident we were really chocked, it’s such a pity and such a big loss!!!! Our thoughts are with the family…

  30. I am a fan of his music and wanted to give my condolences to the family. Julia and audrey please keep your spirits up and celebrate the life he lived even though it was abruptly cut short, his legacy will live on with the memories you have cherished, his music, and with audrey growing older you will notice the sparkle in her eyes and her subsequent zest for life will never falter in reminding you the love you had for Daniel. May your lives be blessed with all that is good in this life and remember to always keep a strong outlook and keep your head up. I love you all.

  31. If art is an expression of self, than his music survives him. RIP

Leave a Reply

